About Towcester Camera Club

Towcester Camera Club meets on alternate Wednesdays from September to July with a break at Christmas. An additional Zoom session will be introduced from September - see here.

The club meet at St Michael’s Church Rooms in Silverstone (Or Zoom when meetings not face to face)

Meetings start at 19:30 and conclude at approx 21:30

Tea, Coffee and biscuits are served at no additional cost during a short interval at approximately half way through the evening.

The current membership fee payable at the beginning of April is £18.00. A payment of £3.00 due at all meetings attended.

The current membership stands at 50.

We are not a competition-orientated club like many other clubs. We consider the club to be friendly and inclusive. We enter only two competitions per year, a head-to-head against Olney Camera Club and the Northamptonshire-wide Terry Chapman competition, in which we compete against the best clubs in the county.


Towcester Camera Club was formed in 2000 and used to meet at Towcester Town Hall before moving to Towcester Scout Hut in 2001. The scout hall at that time was ok in the warmer weather but in winter was very cold the only heating was by 2 or 3 wall mounted fan heaters which were so noisy that if we had a speaker the heaters had to be turned off in order to hear what was being said. At this time we were lucky if more than six members turned up to a meeting. We stayed there until it was destroyed by fire in about 2002. At this point we needed somewhere to meet in a hurry, so one of the members at that time being a member of Towcester working men’s club managed to arrange the use of a room there until we could find somewhere more suitable.
We then moved to the Methodist Hall in Greens Norton until the hall was closed in 2013. This was such a vast difference from the Scout Hut in that it was warm and comfortable and had better kitchen facilities, although parking did become bit of a problem in later years. We then moved to our present home at St Michael’s Church Rooms in Silverstone, a very good venue, being a fully refurbished, bright, warm hall with good facilities. We would consider a return to Towcester if a suitable venue become available. At present, this is not the case.

Committee 2020 - 2021

Chairperson - Anne Gray
Vice Chair - Alisdair McLean
Programme Secretary - Steve McGill
Treasurer - Kevin Adams
Web/Social Media Master - Ben Bucklow
Minutes Secretary - Peter Brearley
Elected Member (Web Development) - Kirsten Norton
Elected Member - Margaret Burgess Wood
Elected Member - David Kidd